Fiction logo

The Vegetarian

A Story Every Day in 2024 22nd April 2024 113/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 29 days ago 2 min read
11
The Vegetarian
Photo by Jasmine Waheed on Unsplash

"I can't believe that you still eat meat," Brian said to Stephanie as she cut herself a piece of juicy steak, seared to perfection. "The thought of biting into something that was living not so long ago, I find, just repulsive."

Stephanie hated Brian's supercilious tone. She liked meat. It was true she didn't like to think of it frolicking playfully in a field and she was never going to look for a career in an abattoir, but she recognised meat as something she needed for sustenance, she could acquire ready-packaged, fit for the grill, and it tasted good.

Brian was always trying to guilt her and it was starting to get tiresome. The mouth-watering tenderness of her medium rare steak, a taste she normally enjoyed now made her feel like an ill-educated savage.

She vowed to get Brian back for this.

*

Next time they met, Stephanie was prepared.

"I found this interesting article, Brian," she said as they waited for their starters.

"Oh, yes? Who was it about?" Brian loved gossip.

"Not who but what. Sentient vegetables."

Brian was sipping his wine and almost spat it out.

"Pardon?" he exclaimed and laughed.

"You may laugh," Stephanie said, hoping she had got the facts right, "but scientists have found evidence that vegetables talk to each other and think that they are more aware than we give them credit for." Stephanie nodded to emphasise her point.

Which caused Brian to launch into a scathing speech about Stephanie trying to justify her murderous ways and vegetables not having feelings, which went on through the starters. Stephanie defended herself valiantly, whilst wondering why she spent so much time with Brian when he really was a prick, the small radishes and cherry tomatoes in Brian's salad agreeing wholeheartedly, although Stephanie was entirely unaware of this.

It was a disagreeable night and Stephanie wasn't sure she wanted to meet with Brian again.

*

Luckily, a confrontation was taken out of her hands as Brian disappeared quite unexpectedly. However, his next door neighbours were exceedingly surprised when their vegetable patch yielded a bumper crop of parsnips and potatoes even though they'd done nothing different this year, and an enormous amount of bones.

***

364 words

I like to think of the picture I've chosen as "The Four Parsnips of the Apocalypse". A daft little story from me really but one I rather enjoyed writing. Vegetables have feelings too, you know. And yes, cherry tomatoes are a fruit, but have been vegetable-ised for the purpose of my story.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love interacting with my readers.

113/366

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionHumor
11

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard27 days ago

    This is great!! I chuckled several times while reading! I feel like I’ve met a Brian or two before …

  • Shirley Belk28 days ago

    I loved every morsel of this!

  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    🤣🤣🤣🤣 all living things. We watch Survivor and in early seasons they made them eat some strange things - I would say oh no, I be eating the grass or the leaves or something. This is a great story!! The argument of food for real. Those parsnips look rubbery and not edible. I like wild salmon but feel bad. I can’t eat rainbow trout because our old house had a hatchery across the street where you could see them swimming in the long run that they had for them. When I go to restaurants, I’m afraid it might be one of their cousins on my plate so I absolutely can’t order it!! 😳

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    Haha great story!! We should all let each other live the way we want.

  • John Cox29 days ago

    So now I can’t eat vegetables! Arggg!

  • Well-wrought! And hilarious! Life feeds on life. Hand use every part of the animal seemed sanctification enough, but the way we mass produce and farm livestock certainly seems to fall short at times. Nevertheless, whatever I eat, I am thankful to be able to feed my family for another day. Those parsnips though...

  • I'm a vegetarian but I don't push my practice or belief on others. I'm more of a live and let live person. I'm okay with people eating meat around me. Like, that is their food and I don't happen to eat that. That's about it. Buttttt, if people interfere or ridicule my food choices, then I'll go Brian on them, lol. Other than that, I respect people's preferences. It doesn't bother me or harm me in any way. Loved your story!

  • Mariann Carroll29 days ago

    Why do we spend time and argue with certain people, when it’s useless. They don’t even try to understand. There is a deep message in this story ❤️

  • D. J. Reddall29 days ago

    "the small radishes and cherry tomatoes in Brian's salad agreeing wholeheartedly, although Stephanie was entirely unaware of this." What a wonderful line, foreshadowing as it does Brian's undoing by his neighbors' vegetables!

  • Kendall Defoe 29 days ago

    Brian's a dick. And I'm suddenly hungry. 😳

  • I liked it. Although I’m I’m Brian’s side, people shouldn’t eat animals! 😃 great story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.