Fiction logo

Pride Comes Before the Fall

Vanity is Deadly

By Isabella RosePublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
13

I stretched in a vain attempt to wake myself up, to just make myself a bit taller, to simply push away the constricting dirt that imprisoned me under the cold surface of the earth. The sunlight beamed as I made my last attempt at growing taller.

"Why don't you take a rest, sweetheart? You began blooming over two weeks ago, and ever since then, you have relentlessly tried to make yourself grow," came the concerned voice of the coastal red wood who presided over the glen in all of her protective glory.

"I want to be taller," I exclaimed angrily, as I gave the cold and dense earth one last shove with my thin stem.

"You will damage your stalk if you are not careful," soothingly cautioned the tree.

Giggling now reverberated around the thicket as a white rose lowered herself to me, holding an intricate and delicate mirror between her thorns. Fascinated by her own appearance, she couldn't spare a glance at me.

"I am sure to be selected by the humans," she enthusiastically remarked as the glass, that was encased in silver and diamonds, shimmered. Beams of light gleamed against the mossy earth.

"Be careful what you wish for," warned the Raven as he perched safely on a twisted branch. "It's not what you think."

"Here comes one now," she squealed as the man bent down to examine her closely.

The majestic bird winced as sharp pruning equipment was taken from a gardening belt and pointed menacingly at the foolish rose. She sat proudly as the blade came closer, basking in the never-ending praise of her rarity, her beauty, and her majesty.

The rose didn't bother to scream as the sheers encircled her thin and delicate stem, slowly cutting into the stalk and spilling her liquid onto the man's hand. Trembling in pain, the horrified rose let out a muted cry of torment as her stalk was sliced. Withering in anguish, she was lifted from the safety of her bush.

"Help me!" she rasped as the throbbing torment wavered through her leaves and into her pristine, white petals. Waves of anguish churned through her entire being as the man carried her away from the forest.

"Where is he taking her?" I questioned with trepidation in my tiny voice.

"To be placed in a lonely receptacle where she will be slowly left to die from a never-ending thirst." cautioned a bee from his hive. He continued, "Oh, they will keep her on the verge of living to admire her petals; they will call her beautiful as she slowly withers and falls apart in front of them; and once her leaves show decay, they will toss her away while she is barely clinging to life."

"Hush up scaring my Little Flower," commanded the Raven protectively as he shielded me with his velvety wings. "How would you know?" as he snapped at the bee with his powerful beak, barely missing trapping his thin and sheer wing within his grasp.

"Hush now," cooed the tree who had been watching these activities with fascination. "You don't want that man to come back, do you?"

The Raven lowered his beak to the little tulip as he remarked, "You are perfect, Little Flower. You will be allowed to greet the warm sunshine every day, to find a warm home underground during the cold winter months, and to bloom every Spring. Your fate is unlike the rose."

"Will you be here each year when I wake up?" I questioned.

"Yes, My Little One. We are a team, and we always will be," responded the Raven as he lovingly enfolded me in his velvety wings.

FantasyFable
13

About the Creator

Isabella Rose

I am a dedicated author with a passion for fiction. I own a joint business with my amazingly talented co-writer and poet, Raven Black.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Oh, sorry, I forgot to do Congratulations on TS. 🎉

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Oh, this is SO sweet, I loved how the Raven is protective.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Loved your story! My kind of tale. Great choice for POV. You totally had me with "the horrified rose let out a muted cry of torment as her stalk was sliced". I feel for Rose. Isn't personification the best! Congratulations on TS!!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Your story reminds me of my daughter when little; she saw life in every bit of nature. We lived in a remote area of northern Sweden at the time. She wanted me to stop the car to save evergreen remnants, pines (small Christmas trees to her). I did stop. It's sad how we want to keep a piece of the earth's beauty for ourselves, yet I feel the rose, despite it's well portrayed vanity in your story is an eternal symbol of love and caring. No one except the mother of little child wants to be given a bouquet of dandelions, although they are more plentiful. This was such a fantastic, well written and sweet story. I really loved every single bit. New fan!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Loved your way of wiriting. Great❤️

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Cathy Schieffelinabout a month ago

    Delightful piece. Thank you for putting this out into the world.

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatárabout a month ago

    This passage made me cry because it's so true! Flowers should be admired in gardens and grown for the bees and the sun to greet them every morning. "To be placed in a lonely receptacle where she will be slowly left to die from a never-ending thirst." cautioned a bee from his hive. He continued, "Oh, they will keep her on the verge of living to admire her petals; they will call her beautiful as she slowly withers and falls apart in front of them; and once her leaves show decay, they will toss her away while she is barely clinging to life." Congrats for top story! Well deserved!

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story Your resilience is an inspiration to all who know you. Keep inspiring others with your strength

  • I felt so sad for the rose 🥺 The tulip and the raven were so adorable! Loved your story, My Morbid Friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.