Fiction logo

Poetry of a rose, and poison most foul

One poisonous prick takes but a minute to end a dream!

By Novel AllenPublished 21 days ago 2 min read
8

With eyes closed, trusting smiling lips

puckered happily, as fluttering heart

bowed down low to caress and inhale

the splendor of love's vase of gifted roses.

How happy the years had been

Eight years as success was ours to embrace

Our fortunes entwined in an infinity of our duality

Together we did it all, merging all in faith

Signing each of our lives over in mutual bliss

Till death do us part and inherit it all

All for you or all for me

Believing we would never part. Forever our song.

But alas...

I pricked my finger today

On this lovely perfumed rose

which you gave me on my birthday

Its thorn was hidden where I could not see

Hidden beneath a trusting leaf of verdant green

Was I meant to sleep like Princess Aurora, our

Sleeping Beauty cursed by the evil fairy magic

Of Maleficent, purchased by your deceit?

Or did you order death with a flowery bouquet.

Such irony I found in this metaphor

Your hidden thorns have pierced my heart

Blood dripping on the interior of my soul

For your disguised barbed spike of black betrayal

Burrowed deep and dark beneath the bewildered

Proud and sparkling frozen ebony of my skin

The rose yet stood firm and fresh in maidenly bloom

Mocking my shame and descent into darkest despair

A rose by any other name, is still a rose

I had read that salient rambling untruth somewhere

Then so too, am I not, in sage contemplation

Myself yet a dying rose by the same virtue

Should I not also be like the proud rose

Lift my breasts, firmly arch my back

Pucker my lips, sashay my impudent backside

As I gaze far out beyond yon window

And espy a whole new world to explore.

And so, I quickly sought the antidote to your

Poisoned perfidiousness

T'was made of hope, moving on, no one is worth

my pain and I - don't - give - a -damn...

quickly blended...shaken, not stirred.

With less than one minute to spare

I stumbled, fumbled with the ingredients

I easily found most, idling on the shelf

But hope and moving on were nowhere to be found

as the seconds ticked away, my eyes dimmed

I became weaker, my brows dripping

I fell to my knees and prayed

To a God I had all but forsaken, forgotten

Dear God, if you spare me I will be good

I spoke words which I hoped rang of truth

For deep in my heart, I tasted a need for revenge

I just hoped that God in his infinite mercy

Would look beyond by dark damned soul.

With only a few seconds to spare

I remembered where hope and moving on

had been tucked away, safe and sound

I had not needed them for a while you see.

I crawled to them, weak and almost dead

I swallowed them down!

Hope seared my throat, moving-on burned

Like the fires of hell.

My minute was up

I fell into a deep sleep

And awakened renewed...alive

Funny how one decision opens up a whole new world

Of new adventures and new worlds to conquer

How one minute can change your life

From murderous intent to freedom of choice

Damned if I will waste my time

Lamenting what might have been

Hello world!!!!!

Here I come~~~but be aware

NightCafe AI

Blood is dripping from my thorns.

............................................................................

Stream of ConsciousnessPsychologicalLoveHorror
8

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain13 days ago

    ‘How one minute can change your life.’ A wonderful take on the challenge. Poignant, dark, melancholy, revenge then the revelation ‘Hello world!!!!! Here I come~~~but be aware Blood is dripping from my thorns.‘ Loved it! Pauline 🌸

  • Sid Aaron Hirji15 days ago

    nice-the 60 seconds our minds fill with thoughts

  • PK Colleran20 days ago

    Powerful stuff here. What you do with words is amazing.... Moving ..... Deep. Here I come World!

  • Omgggg, I devoured this poem! So dark, poignant and intense. It had everything that I loved so much!

  • Babs Iverson21 days ago

    Bold Brilliant & Beautiful!!! Lovely read!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lana V Lynx21 days ago

    There's so much beauty and suffering in this poem, I'm in awe.

  • Hannah Moore21 days ago

    This is FANTASTIC. Such a delightful, rich read.

  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    Oh, I absolutely love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.