Fiction logo

Flight

Written using a prompt from my work in progress: 366 Writing Prompts (for the upcoming leap year!) "Write about learning how to fly from the perspective of a baby bird."

By Ashley LimaPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Image from Bird House and Habitat

Mom and Dad left. So did all of my siblings, and I'm stuck here, all alone, with nowhere to go.

I'm getting hungry, and I know I need to act fast, but the ground is so far beneath me. All I know is the basket I was born in. Home is the familiar feel of the twigs, leaves, and grass beneath my feet. I don't know what's out there in the Great Green Beyond, and I don't know if I want to know.

As the sun rises over the horizon, my stomach begins to growl. I'm growing weaker by the minute, and I can feel it by the way my legs wobble beneath me. The time is now or never.

My stomach drops as I look over the edge of my nest. The ground beneath me seems a lifetime away, and I'm not sure what's supposed to happen next. The shine of the dew drops on the clover and blades of grass is enticing, and others of my kind are beginning to wake.

I hear the calls of my people from all around, and I watch them soar overhead. I make my own cry in an attempt to reach my family, but nobody answers. I have to do this on my own.

I fall.

The ground is encroaching quickly.

I close my eyes, and I flap my wings in a last-ditch effort to save my life.

And before I know it,

I'm flying.

I'm free.

I can feel the wind against my feathers. The sun kisses me gently, warm and forgiving. The other birds are singing, and I wonder if they're cheering me on.

There's only one problem.

No one ever taught me how to land.

AdventureShort StoryMicrofiction
3

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Luca10 months ago

    "No one ever taught me how to land" God, but that says it all! Well done. 😊👍

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    I love the idea and perspective. Very well written and a delight to read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.