Fiction logo

Drillmington: Hotspots

TSL points out information; Julisia has business to handle.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
1
Drillmington: Hotspots
Photo by Microsoft Edge on Unsplash

Julisia parked her Spyra. She donned sunglasses in the bitter cold because of the clarity and harshness of the winter sun. She walked into her spacious abode. TSL was holed up at the studio while the home one was finished.

She found her office. When she removed her sunnies and looked at her computer screen, she whipped out her phone.

“What is this?” she asked her boyfriend.

“It’s MizterLo. He just got knocked for dirty guns.”

“I see that. What’s he doing with guns, period? Doesn’t he have felonies?”

“And he’s going to have even more on his head,” TSL lamented.

“Goddamn,” she said.

“I know. We were supposed to do a track together. Guess that won’t be happening until he gets set up in his resort.”

A sarcastic sneer crossed her face. “You know what, Top….”

“I’m serious. He’ll be warm this winter, cool in the summer. He’ll be walking dogs and doing yoga. They’ll be English teachers talking about how to write plays and poetry. He told me about it. I already knew but he let me know.”

Julisia sighed. “Anyway, when are you coming home?”

“As soon as I lay down three tracks. I’m going to the club after, though,” he intoned.

“You can’t come home right after?”

“Absolutely. It’s business. Don’t worry. I have a few appearances to make. It’s nothing. I’m going to keep the momentum of the day of making music going. I might as well pick up a cool $50,000 while I’m ahead.”

“Well, I’m not going to stop you from getting that money.”

“What are you doing? You know Chantel is on call 24-7. She can stop by the house and whip you up something.”

“I know.”

The sound of TSL’s voice shifted slightly and he laughed somewhat.

“Alright, then,” he said. “I’ll bring home dessert.”

“Okay.” She smirked and switched off her phone. She looked at agendas and plans for her to take her business across the state of Delaware. Julisia looked at the digital pages like a mother eagle spots food for her nest. It took her no time to chart a tour for TSL and to keep his money flowing. Then she considered snitching. One eyebrow raised.

She sketched out an entire schedule for her to take on possible hotspots in Wilmington. All of the places that had featured activity in the past became part of her agenda. Everything she did consisted of taking her time and being ahead of time. Badges and names of detectives stored in her phone. She combed through them all and kept tabs on all of the ones she might need to contact in the coming days. MizterLo had been nabbed but it could’ve been prevented. It was one thing they could have been able to stop. Alas….The steam under her carried her to be a top controller in this realm of rap and informing.

By standing, she felt more engaged so she pushed away from her desk and walked around the house. She stayed in her business clothes, seeking to keep her mind off being able to handle anything that might arise. And it did. On the East Side of Wilmington, a gang initiation was reported online. With a text sent to TSL, he never received it since he remained in the booth, the recording sign illuminated.

Once he picked up his phone, he’d noticed that Julisia had sent him maps and other data regarding the locations of the offenders.

He nodded his head in agreement.

“I’ve gotta be out.” That’s all he said. A simple and direct answer and he was gone.

Series
1

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.