Families logo

Driver's Test

Oops

By Andrea Corwin Published 12 days ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2024
21
Image by Rosy / Bad Homburg / Germany from Pixabay

"She wants to know what happens if she answers wrong," I told the man behind the counter.

Eyeing my teenage daughter, he replied, "Oh, a red light flashes and a siren goes off, so everyone knows!"

He and I looked at her and laughed as her mouth dropped open.

"He's only kidding! No one knows if you answer wrong. You'll do fine!" I told her.

She walked to the testing area and began her written driving test.  Finishing quickly, she returned to the front to sign up for the behind-the-wheel test. The man behind the counter told her, "I've got good news and bad news. What do you want first?" Katie told him she wanted the good news. "The good news is that you can do the test in one hour. The bad news is that you have the dragon lady," he said, smirking. When he saw her worried frown, he finished with, "Just kidding."

We went home to get the old clunker we bought for her to drive and hurried back.  Nervous, she turned left into the DOL testing center in front of an oncoming vehicle with barely enough room. Breath sucked in and heart pounding, I told her to calm down. 

The Examiner and driver were the only people allowed in the car. I went back to the building and peered out of the plate-glass window, watching her maneuver the vehicle between the orange cones.

"Good!  She passed the parallel parking perfectly!" I congratulated myself. 

Exiting the Licensing Office, I walked discreetly toward Safeway Grocery, my eyes on the green car she was driving. 

Signaling, she pulled out of the improvised parking space, turned, and waited to enter traffic. Stepping into the store, I stopped and watched as she passed and swung onto another street. 

A few minutes later, with my purchases, I returned to the DOL site to sit, read, and wait.

"Are you Katie's mom?"  I looked up into a man's inquiring eyes and nodded yes.

"There's a little problem.  She's been in an accident, and I need to drive you there."

"WHAT?  You're kidding, right?  Is this a joke?"

Shaking his head, he verbally assured me he was not joking, and we needed to go to the accident site. He led me to his official vehicle.  Stunned, I continued mumbling under my breath.  Buckling into the seat belt, I turned to him.

"I can't believe this! I KNEW I should have sent my husband to bring her for the test. I just knew it!"

We drove a few blocks, and he pulled into a parking lot. There, we saw the female Examiner and my daughter. I turned to the driving test Examiner and asked what had happened.

"We were turning the corner. There is a yield sign, but Katie was not going to yield to the oncoming traffic. I had to tell her to stop, and when she did, the woman behind rear-ended us."

I saw no damage to either vehicle, and the other driver left. The driving license Examiners huddled together, discussing the situation as I talked to Katie. 

"So, I guess she failed?" I asked the woman.

Nodding her head, she replied, "She failed.  I had to tell her to stop. We would have been hit by the oncoming traffic if I hadn't. You can go home now."

Katie got in and started the car. "Take us where your accident was.  I want to see how this happened," I told her.

She drove past the three-way corner, and I realized it was difficult for a new driver to determine what would transpire at that intersection. It is known to be a confusing intersection. Two lanes of traffic could come onto the street she was on from her left; two lanes could go straight through on an angled path, and there was an angular turn-right-only lane at the intersection to a third street. The intersection had a stoplight, and the right turn lane veered sharply to the right before the stoplight. The Examiner had told her to turn, so she moved into the turn-only lane. We practiced there several times so she wouldn't err again and went home. Pulling into our driveway, she burst into tears. 

the crazy corner

"What's wrong? You're okay, the car's okay, why are you crying?  This is something you'll laugh about with your friends when you're older."

"I'm not telling him! You tell him!" she shouted at me and ran to her bedroom.

My husband, startled, just looked at me as I chuckled while explaining the situation.

"I'll go talk to her," he said.

One month later, we were once again at the same licensing bureau. Nervously, we waited for the Examiner to come to our car, and when he did, I got out and stood on the sidewalk to watch the parallel parking. At least it wasn't that woman. Oops! Too sharp a turn, the car won't make that spot. Okay, out they went. About ten minutes later, they pulled the green car in. Holding my breath, I watched as she entered the office.

"Well?" I demanded.

"I passed," she beamed at me. They took her picture, handed her a brand new plasticized driver's license, and went out.

"So how was it this time?" nosy mom (me) inquired.

"Well, I failed parallel parking but everything else was fine. But guess what?"

"What?" I inquired suspiciously.

"Remember the woman who was the Examiner the first time?" I nodded.  "I told the man Examiner what happened on that ride. He said, 'Oh, so you're the one!' Then he told me she came back after that ride and burst into tears and had to go home for the day she was so upset. "

Bursting into laughter, I slapped my thigh.  We chuckled together for the duration of our short trip home.

You know what, though? The woman who rear-ended her was at fault, right? Following too closely....all's well that end's well. My daughter is a great driver (of course, because I did most of the teaching - wink, wink)!

#drivingtest #teendriver #drivesafe #passed #driverslicense #success #congratulations

valuesimmediate familyhumanityhow tochildrenadvice
21

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin - All Rights Reserved.

Using content without written permission is prohibited

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 7 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Murali8 days ago

    I'm glad your article is "Top Story - May 2024." It sounds like Katie's learning experience has made her a more cautious and aware driver.

  • Kodah10 days ago

    Back to say congrats on top story!! 💌🥳🎉🥳🎉

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • The Dani Writer11 days ago

    Ooh-la-la! Great story! Kudos on being featured! And she's not the only one who needed another try to pass the driving test 😉 It does grate though, those areas of the road that are not exactly clear, but because the people of that locale "understand" them, they're deemed okay. Should be able to 'flunk' the staff in highway planning, infrastructure, and management in my humble view. I remember sending in video footage of a junction in question concerning a roundabout junction since the markings had faded so much, the delineation couldn't be seen clearly anymore. Know what I found? Nobody cares. Unless there's an accident. Then, it's everyone else's fault.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 days ago

    You took a turn here I did not expect! Very good work!

  • Jay Kantor11 days ago

    Ac - An 'Old Clunker' and a Special Goodie to 'Archive' - for your Daughters kids someday...! Jk.in.l.a.

  • Oh, the nerves I had as I taught my daughters to drive, whew! It's amazing we all survive this rite of passage. Congratulations on a well-deserved top story

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Dana Crandell11 days ago

    Oh, the memories.! Congratulations!

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    Argh, this will be me in a couple of years with my son. So painful.

  • Omgggg, so glad your daughter was okay! I was so worried when he said to you that she'd been in an accident! So happy that she got her license at last hehehehe. And lol, that dragon lady cried 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • angela hepworth11 days ago

    So relatable omg 😂😂 Great story!!

  • Kodah12 days ago

    This reminds me a lot of back when I was doing my driving test😂! Incredible story, Andrea! 💓

  • John Cox12 days ago

    You tell the best stories, Andrea! Are you planning to enter the travel snapshot challenge? That one is right in your wheelhouse!

  • Lana V Lynx12 days ago

    Such a great story! Reminded me of a friend's daughter who was taking the driving test five times and finally passed on her birthday.

  • Katie Erdman12 days ago

    Ha! Great story! I’m curious how often accidents happen on driving tests.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.