Chapters logo

Smartystan

Interim

By Skyler SaundersPublished 7 days ago 4 min read
4
Smartystan
Photo by Chintan Jani on Unsplash

Multiple machines showed movements that caused engineers to frown.

“We just can’t get them all to work together,” Maser Clover, 45, finally said aloud.

In walked Belinda Gummer. She walked over with sneakers. In a moment, the engineers like Clover noticed her and then kept working on their specific projects.

“It shouldn’t be too much of a struggle,” Belinda said as if there was a problem, but that could be solved.

“Check the coordinates again and ensure that each of them are synchronized.”

Clover obeyed his boss and the entire apparatus lit up like night time traffic down a busy city street. Belinda smiled.

“Keep it up, Mase,” she mentioned. Clover grinned and let out a small sigh. Belinda returned to her office. There she found different correspondence related to the new nation. She cracked her knuckles and her neck as she sat. Her company, UltraMinds had occupied her time and permitted her to flourish. Now, though, the fresh country within a country caught her attention as well. She looked at the snail mail and then at the emails and text messages. Few regarded UltraMinds. In fact, the great majority of notices all referred to fund the country now tasked with keeping the glowing minds sparkling. Delaseer took up the time she would use to combat the technical difficulties of UltraMinds. One of her assistants stood at the glass panel entrance, Belinda beckoned Sylvia Gardner, 24, to the desk at which she sat.

“Miss Gummer, I––”

“Please, Syl’. Call me Bel’.”

“Okay, right. I wanted to inform you of all the notes you have received.”

“You don’t say.…”

“I can tell you one of the senders of these mail materials just showed us how to incorporate UltraMinds into the place you’ve established with the founders.” Belinda raised an eyebrow.

“Have a seat.” The young assistant sat down with a bit of trepidation. Belinda took notice.

“You don’t have to worry. You’re not losing your job. In fact, You may have a position in my chair.”

“In your what?” Sylvia replied with a puzzled face.

“You’ve been able to give me messages, you’ve traveled with me, you know what’s going on right now. I may have to work full-time at Delaseer.”

“What about the engineers?”

“They’re not like you. All of you have more degrees than myself. I just know you’d be able to handle the workload and be able to keep the ship cruising at a fast clip.”

“I….”

“Say you will.”

“Alright. I’ll do it. But just because I have a degree doesn’t mean I’m going to excel. Look at you. You don’t even have a high school diploma and you’ve built a multibillion-dollar company.”

“I think you can do more damage. Or worse.”

Sylvia smiled at this last remark. No nervousness painted her visage.

“You’ll get formal training from one of the learned machines. You’ve had first hand experience with me, but I think we’re going to do even better with one of our artificial friends.”

Sylvia nodded. She showed assuredness with a slight feeling of excitement that buoyed her.

“I want you to look at all of these letters and notes and anthologize them into a neat presentation. This may be one of your last assignments as an assistant.”

“I thank you, Belinda. You’ve always wanted me to say your first name and today you even shortened it. This is so major!”

“Don’t let enthusiasm run you. There are dozens of engineers and a few executives who will not like the fact that my assistant is going to grab hold of the helm.”

Sylvia straightened. Her lips turned to thin slits.

“Yes, I understand.”

“Good. After today you will be interim CEO of UltraMinds. You may still have competition, but I wouldn’t worry about them,” Belinda explained.

“I’ll be on the lookout! But I have a concern….”

“Shoot.”

“You’re going to continue with the admittance operation for the new country, right?”

“Yes!”

“If, and I’m just saying if, I don’t get this lofty position, would you think it wrong of me and say I passed the test and got into the realm of advanced minds?”

Belinda let out a small chortle.

“Of course, it’s fine with me. If you wish to not be the head of this firm, it’s your choice. I’m just opening the door to someone as capable as you.”

Sylvia’s mind nearly melted. “As you can see, we have robust systems here. I trust everyone under me, especially you, Sylvia.”

I will take this post, then.”

I’m aware you’re a Marine, but you’re no longer active duty.” Belidna smirked.

“That’s right, pardon me,” Sylvia sank a bit.

“It’s quite alright. It’s that warrior ethos about you that I most admire.” Sylvia breathed. Her chin canted slightly upward. “I will be a CEO first and then someday, cross those pearly gates and tread the streets of gold. I’ll have a mansion! That will beat my walk-up any day.” Belinda seemed relaxed at delivering this news to Sylvia. Like a master chef imparting culinary knowledge to her protege she felt as if this was right, proper.

“So, go forth with the bits of information you have. Organize it all for my viewing capability and continue to keep in mind a boss lady never has to be too bossy.”

A gleam came to Sylvia’s eyes. She shrugged in her mind as she left. The thought of running a major corporation seemed both tantalizing and burdensome. But she also knew that any leader must get the sense at some point. She carried the papers and a tablet to the glass desk just adjacent to Belinda’s. At this point, Sylvia walked past the various machines that ambled by and the few engineers who sneered at her. With the knowledge she had just gleaned, however, she took in the bits of information that fueled her, that powered her. When she looked up from the work at her desk she could see Belinda just standing looking out her window, preparing for the transition of her role.

BusinessYoung AdultScience FictionFiction
4

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.