Chapters logo

In the Bedroom (Monologue)

A short Script

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
In the Bedroom (Monologue)
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

INT. Bedroom 10:00 PM

(26 year old Jessica is laying in bed with her laptop on her knees while taking a look at her emails.)

Jessica: (sighs in frustration) I can’t stand this professor (science) he’s too strict. I wish I could have dropped his class. Does it really matter if the citations are not in alphabetical order?

(Jessica goes to a proofreader website to make sure her paper is well polished, once that is done, she takes a look at her citations and puts them in alphabetical order while rolling her eyes. She then goes on the school’s website for courses and turns in the assignment, feeling relieved.)

Jessica: It’s a bit chilly in here now (grabs her velvet blanket and puts it around her)

(she feels so warm that it makes her lay down, closing her eyes. She’s thinking about what her life after graduating college will look like, worried that her major could be a waste of time)

Jessica: Oh my god, how embarrassing would it be to graduate and still work a job that pays me $13 an hour. I need to stop slacking and try to make the best out of this career I chosen (writing)

(she opens her laptop and searches up writing prompts, important topics to discuss, current issues going on right now)

Jessica: I don’t think I’ve ever written about plastic surgery. Wouldn’t hurt to do some research about this. I’m curious to know about the misconceptions and myths about it.

(she starts to look up scholarly articles on plastic surgery. Surprised at what she’s learning)

Jessica: Hmmm, I never looked at it that way, plastic surgery doesn’t necessarily mean people are insecure, it just means they hate something physical in their body, but that doesn’t mean they hate themselves as people. (She continues to read more articles, and opens a word document to type down everything she has learned about plastic surgery)

Jessica: I got it now! (Yells excitingly) I’m going to write an article about plastic surgery and talk about wether or not that means having low self-esteem. I think taking a look at some videos that discuss plastic surgery could also be a big help for my article. I can’t believe it 11:15 PM now. But it doesn’t matter, it’s Saturday! I need to stretch now (gets out of bed, gives out a big yawn and begins to stretch her arms and legs)

(Jessica is now thinking about her ex best friend, wondering if she is doing okay. She still misses her, but their friendship ended because of their differences)

Jessica: (in her head) Gosh you’re the most stupidest girl ever for staying with a guy who is after other women. I wish you would stop smoking, you could have gone back to school to study what you love, but left it all just to prioritize him. I know that your relationship is the same as always. We use to listen to Selena Gomez in my bedroom here and dance with smiles on our faces, we would do Tik Tok videos and take a look at memes because we wanted to laugh. We would try on clothes, help each other with assignments. I just wish you were here with me so we could talk all night, so we could cry together. But like I said: you’re stupid. But it’s okay, I still love you, even if we don’t talk anymore. I don’t hate you. I hate that you let a guy take control of your life and that you basically have no say in his actions.

(Jessica starts to tear up, but wipes her tears off with her fingers, she then looks at Facebook stories and posts, liking a couple of them)

Jessica: (Screams loudly after seeing a horrific image) OHH MY GOD!! I was not expecting to see this again! I can’t believe someone made a post about this movie… this just ruined my night ( she hides under her blanket and begins to imagine cartoons and memes so that the image she saw disappears from her mind)

Play
2

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    WOW! Very amazing work!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.