BookClub logo

The Bear's Cottage: A Story of Childhood Curiosity

Book Review

By StaringalePublished about a month ago β€’ 3 min read
6
The Bear's Cottage: A Story of Childhood Curiosity
Photo by Ella de Kross on Unsplash

Book Stats: Goldilocks and The Three Bears written by Robert Southey. Published in 1837.

I am back in the dingy old bookstore. Standing at the kids section, I am browsing the catchy titles trying to make up my mind.

Finally, I settled on buying classic tales. The same old - same old rectangular books were not appealing to me.

My eyes fell on the small palm-sized funny funny-shaped rows of books. Picking up the purple one that was cut in the shape of a bear's face I flipped it over.

The title became visible; Goldilocks and The Three Bears, with a cute image of a little yellow-haired girl surrounded by 3 bears.

My mind was made up - paying for it on the counter I left with the book in hand.

Walking back home I can't wait to read it again. I wonder if I would get a new perspective since I am reading it as an adult now.

Reaching home in a record time I freshened up. Now in comfortable PJs, I am sitting by the fireplace surrounded by fluffy pillows.

Immersing myself in the tale from my childhood. Let me share my opinion on it with you.

First of all this book left me feeling just right, not too hot, not too cold, but just the perfect level of entertainment. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‰

Goldilocks portrayed the curious nature of a child very well. I couldn't help but chuckle at her innocent curiosity.

But let us be real who wouldn't want to break into the cute little cottage? Who wouldn't want to jump on the beds that are just there? And given a chance why wouldn't you try the ready meal of porridge laid on the table? It was like an invitation saying - come and have a try.

I will say this is a literary masterpiece that will have you roaring with laughter.

Despite the bad habit of breaking in and becoming a home invader with a taste for porridge - you can't help but root for her.

Even when she wreaks havoc in the adorable little humble abode.

The author brilliantly shows the chaos that follows an unsupervised child. As we can see in the story - the moment she steps foot in the little cottage chaos ensues.

This story is like a rollercoaster ride of mischief and mayhem.

Goldilocks may have gone too far trying to indulge in her curiosity but let's be honest, we have all wanted to try out someone else's bed at least once in our lives.

As a child when I read it I always pictured myself in place of Goldilocks trying to indulge in my curiosity. Wandering into the cottage and jumping straight on the little bed.

But putting it back in order before trying to take a bite of the porridge. While I kept an eye on the window so that I could leave before they came back.

But now as an adult, I think that was a dumb thought why would I willingly venture into a bear's abode? Ah!! The childish innocence!

Anyway, this is a hilarious read that will have you questioning your manners and craving some porridge.

A must-read for anyone who loves a good laugh, a lesson in boundaries and the importance of locking your doors.

Stretching up like a cat I got up, putting the pillows back. I went to the bookshelf and placed the book there.

Now I am heading to the kitchen in a mood for some porridge topped with slices of fruits, berries and a handful of nuts.

How do you like your porridge? Have you ever had such childish thoughts?

See Ya!

DiscussionReviewBook of the DayAnalysis
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Childhood memories. Goldilocks and her antics always kind of bothered me....I knew they were going to get into trouble.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    A lovely story. It is very natural and I found it cool for me!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oh I definitely wanna break into a cottage hehehehe. I love this story too. As for porridge, I'm not a fan of it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.