BookClub logo

Between Betrayal & Deception- A Psychological Thriller Review

Book Review

By StaringalePublished 16 days ago 3 min read
2
Between Betrayal & Deception- A Psychological Thriller Review
Photo by Kourosh Qaffari on Unsplash

Book Stats: "The Wife Between Us" written by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, was published on 9th January 2018.

One Saturday morning, filled with chirping birds, I wake to the scent of a delicious meal. Getting ready in a jiffy, I headed to the kitchen.

A hearty meal with my mom in the serene morning is blissful. Cleaning up, I headed to the bookshelf.

What better way to spend the morning than curled up by the window with a book.

This book was recommended to me by an ingenious writer named Dharrsheena - Thanks for the recommendation, Dhar!

So, here I am, curled up on a couch by the window. Minutes passed by as I continued reading and here are my thoughts on it.

This story is a gripping psychological thriller. The protagonists of the book are two ladies going by the names of Vanessa and Nellie. The connection between the two ladies is slowly revealed through twists and turns in the story.

The author crafted the characters well and made the plot suspenseful and engaging. The reader can't help but be drawn into the lives of Vanessa & Nellie.

The main themes of the story are deception, betrayal, self-discovery, empowerment, redemption, relationships, and secrets.

The story unveils the intricate web of betrayal & deceit and how it shapes the relationships between the characters. The struggle of the characters facing their past and making sense of their present is realistically portrayed.

These complex themes add depth to the story and give the reader a rich reading experience.

For me personally, I like how the suspense in the story is expertly built, making it difficult for me to put down the book until I reach the end.

Some potential negatives in this book could be the pacing, character development, and unrealistic plot elements.

I felt the pacing to be uneven, causing the plot to seem sluggish and disjointed at certain moments.

At the beginning, the characters seemed great but as the story progressed, I felt like there was little to no character development - this caused the main characters to come across as one-dimensional, making it hard for the reader to empathize with their experiences.

The story has some unbelievable plot elements like convenient coincidences and unrealistic scenarios, which made some parts of the story come off as fiction to the reader.

Overall, I would say that it is a must-read book, especially for fans of psychological thrillers. You would love the twisty plot accompanied by a suspenseful narrative. It will keep you engaged until the very end.

Getting up from the comfortable spot, I gave a stretch, grabbed the book, and waved to my mom as I headed to the library to return it.

Jogging through the quiet streets, I reached the library. Signing off the book, I headed back.

The cute kindergarteners in their yellow caps were boarding the bus, with their equally cute Pokemon and animal-shaped bags, made me want to go over there and borrow them. But, imagining their crying faces, I didn't have the heart to do it.

Back home, closing the door behind me, I headed to the kitchen for brunch, reading made me hungry.

From the silence in the house, I knew my siblings have yet to wake up. Anyways, that is a plus for me, as I sat down to enjoy brunch.

Have you read this book before? Do you like psychological thrillers? Have you read any psychological thrillers before? Do you think this genre is very thought provoking?

Have a good, bright, sunny day! Talk to you next time.

See Ya!

Have fun and enjoy life!

RecommendationReviewDiscussionBook of the DayAnalysis
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake15 days ago

    Wow! Your review has begun with a perfect line "The Wife Between Us" that reflects the topic. Keep up the good work Staringale.

  • Yes, I have to agree about the convenient coincidences hahaha. But the unreliable narrator was so good. This book shocked me so many times with it's twists. So happy you enjoyed it!

  • Very good article

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.