Art logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 9

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
8
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Kseniya Lapteva on Unsplash

Welcome to a new instalment in my Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting series! Today, I have 10 new watercolors to share with you, all dating back to April 2023.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Landscape with tree and houses. Another piece inspired by this image. As you can see, I added the bushes and spaced out the houses. Just a habit of mine. When I copy something, I like to tweak it and bring my own energy into the work.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A winding path. Sometimes, I just want to use a bunch of different colors and have fun with it. My gel pen had a mind of its own, forcing me to rely on a brush after a while. That explains the bleeding towards the middle. But you really have to zoom in to notice...

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

At the edge of the ocean, based on this painting. I quite like it, especially for a first try. My favorite elements are the clouds and the house. I actually like how the paint bled to create the blue-grey tint of the walls, and how "abstract" the flowers look in the foreground.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

At the lake. Inspired by this very pretty piece. Mine looks different because of something that happened with the paper. (As always, I have Artist's Loft to thank. Their tubes of paint are good, though!) So, I had to spend hours trying to correct the issue. (Yes, I'm referring to the grass.) By the time I was done, my stubborn self did not want to ditch the piece, so I just continued.

Actually, it is quite pretty in its own right.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Seascape, inspired by this piece. One of my favorite creations!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A field of lavender. Silly me thought I was advanced enough to paint this. I will not be remembered for that kind of artwork. LOL!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

An ocean scene. All I can say is that I was truly uninspired when I worked on the painting...

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Towards the mountains. The goal was to test my new gel pens. I painted this scene quickly, without worrying about particulars. Not my favorite artwork. (Maybe, subconsciously, I wanted to depict a volcanic eruption? 😛)

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Northern lights. Not really sure what I was going for here. It does not matter, it is nice.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

In the desert, inspired by the image here. It was much more difficult to paint than I had initially envisioned it. The shaded areas in the original piece are great, so I will probably look for tutorials to improve my technique. With that said, the silhouettes are fantastic! They look as if they were moving on the paper...

That's it for today. See you next time for more paintings from yours truly.

Want to see more of my work? Check out my other posts below:

---

I hope you enjoyed this post. What is your favorite watercolor in the list? Do you paint? If so, show me some of your work.

Oh, and by the way, if you are a writer, author, or artist, I would love to hear from you. Click the link below for more information.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

ProcessPaintingJourneyInspirationGeneralContemporary Art
8

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Matos8 months ago

    I loved The Desert! I agree about the silhouettes, they appear to be walking!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Ooh, “in the desert” and the northern lights one; those are my faves. Your colors are always stunning! But I love the ones with people; they’re dynamic and allow me to spill into the paintings. 👏👏👏

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Nicely done again. Faves are At The Edge of the Ocean, Seascape and In The Desert.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Still enjoying this journey as you learn. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  • S. A. Crawford8 months ago

    I love how bright and bold the colours are in these pieces; the winding path one is definitely my favourite. On a side note, I love how often you introduce visual mediums and elements on here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.